Ancient Zhenjiang has been embraced by green hills and clear waters for thousands of years while located at the junction of the torrential Yangtze River and the old Grand Canal. Nature has endowed her with abundant charming sceneries, and history has left her numerous cultural relics as well as a heavy cultural connotation.
Zhenjiang has three famous hills: Jiao Hill, 5 kilometers (3.1 miles) northeast of the city center, Jinshan Hill, 2.5 kilometers (1.6 miles) northwest of the urban area, and Beigushan Hill in downtown Zhenjiang. These were regarded by many poets and scholars in ancient times as the most attractive sites south of the Yangtze River. Today, numerous people are still attracted to the hills, each of which offers its own special characteristic: the majesty of Jiao Hill, the picturesque scenery of Jinshan Hill, and the steepness of Beigushan Hill.
Ancient charming hills are usually accompanied by ancient temples, especially in Zhenjiang, an ever prosperous city in Chinese history. The 1,500-year-old Jinshan Temple in Jinshan Hill Park and the 1,400-year-old Dinghui Temple in Jiaoshan Hill are significant places for Buddhism activities in China.
The Nanshan National Forest Park, located 2.5 kilometers to the city center, is an integration of peaceful landscapes and cultural relics. There are three ancient temples that were built in the Eastern Jin Dynasty (317-420), including Zhaoyin Temple, Zhulin Temple and Helin Temple, all of which offer lovely landscapes with the heavy green woods and bamboos, and reveal the trace of history.
The trace of history can also be found easily in downtown Zhenjiang. For example, the Xijin Ancient Ferry Street was built in 2nd century and has experienced numerous renovations in the later dynasties. Today, buildings in the architectural styles of many dynasties such as Yuan (1271-1368) and Qing (1644-1911) still can be found in this street.
The below sightseeings are just for recommendation not the arrangement.
Xijin Ferry Site historical and cultural blocks located in the northwesten part of Zhenjiang city. It is located in the interchange of Yangtze River and the Beijing-Hangzhou Grand Canal, it is next to the Yangtze River in the north, and Yuntain Mountain in the South. It starts from Yushan large wharf in the west. You can go along the small pier Street from the western part to the east. It was extended to Boxian Road, Gyeonggi Road and northern part of Zhongshan Road. It was recorded in the history that Xijin Ferry formed in the Three Kingdoms era and it has a perfect ferry function in the Tang Dynasty. It has been China's north and south water transport, water transport hub. Many political, military, economic, cultural, religious and other major historical events took place here and also witnessed the history of Zhenjiang city development. It is a tourist site where Zhenjiang cultural relics and cultural heritage is preserved, concentrated and intact to the largest extent. It is the key culture of Zhenjiang and also regarded as “ China’s ancient ferry museum."
Jiao Hill lies in the Yangtze River, 4.5 kilometers (about 2.8 miles) to the northeast of Zhenjiang City, Jiangsu Province. It is 71 meters (about 233 feet) above the sea level and covers an area of 38 hectares (about 94 acres). As one of the famous "three hills" of Jingkou District, it is distinguished by its abundant steles and stone inscriptions, so named the "Hill of Calligraphy."
The temples and pavilions of Jiao Hill complement one another to create a scene that gives the impression that the temples and pavilions are actually being wrapped by the hill.
CNY 50 for the entrance fee
CNY 15 for ascending Ten Thousand Buddha Pagoda
1. take bus no. 4, 104 or 133,
and get off at Jiaoshangongyuan Station
The National Monument (Indonesian: Monumen Nasional, abbreviated Monas) is a 132 m (433 ft) tower in the centre of Merdeka Square, Central Jakarta, symbolizing the fight for Indonesia. It is the national monument of the Republic of Indonesia, built to commemorate the struggle for Indonesian independence.
Construction began in 1961 under the direction of President Sukarno. Monas was opened to the public in 1975. It is topped by a flame covered with gold foil.
The monument and the museum are open daily from 08.00 until 16.00 Western Indonesia Time (UTC+7) throughout the week except for the Mondays when the monument is closed. Since April 2016, the monument also opens during night time, from 19.00 until 22.00 in Tuesday to Friday, and from 19.00 until 00.00 in Saturday and Sunday.